India is Off the Streets

Late last week whilst chatting with a friend in the street, we spotted a little tabby kitten wandering by the roadside.  We rushed up to check it out and it hurriedly came meowing up to us in an obvious state of extreme hunger!

Fortunately I carry spare dog and cat food in my car, so I rushed to grab some and quickly put it down for the little creature.  It literally gobbled the food up in a minute asking for more.   By this time, it was more friendly so I was able to pick it up to see what sort of condition it was in.   I found it was a little female, extremely undernourished and with a problem in one of her eyes.  Her age would be around 3 months or so and considering all this she was quite spunky!

Last Saturday on my volunteer day at Aanifeira, I took the little kitten, now baptized India, for examination by the vets and admission into the Aanifeira cattery.    Our vet Joana kindly checked India out during her lunch hour and whilst I held her, she got a thorough examination from head to toe!

Joana found that her third eyelid was not retracting ‘Haw Syndrome’ – hence her eye problem, that she had two ear infections ‘Canker Ear’ – one particularly bad one and even worse that she had a fungal disease of the coat (final result still to be determined).  Much to our relief tests that Joana did for FIV and FeLV both proved negative.

India was dewormed, medicated for the  fungus and had her ears cleaned to remove the black discharge following which a soothing liquid antibiotic was administered.  Her problem with the third eyelid would fix itself in good time according to Joana.  By this time she was understandably annoyed with Joana and I and just wanted to be left in peace!

I then settled little India into a warm bed with food and water.  She is in quarantine and will be for at least a month or so until she has got over her fungal coat disease.

We’ll keep you posted on India’s progress.

About Aanifeira

Aanifeira – Associação dos Amigos dos Animais de Santa Maria da Feira is a non-profit/ no-kill organization with around 400 abandoned dogs and a small amount of cats in its care.
This entry was posted in Animal Shelter, Animal Welfare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to India is Off the Streets

  1. Angela says:

    Such a good job taking care of the animals, I love you all deeply for sharing the same heart for animals.
    I would like to make a donation of 50 euro’s for vet bills, I hope this will help at least a bit. I was touched by this story (and so many others) and the pictures of the little kitten went straight through the heart.
    Please tell me on what account I need to make this donation.
    Keep up the good work Jackie, I love reading your blogs.
    I would love to hear more about India, hoping she will find a good home in the near by future.

    • Aanifeira says:

      Hi Angela
      So nice of you – THANK YOU SO MUCH!! That would be a great help! I’ll send you details by email! I’ll keep you posted on little India’s progress as I too am keen to see her outcome. Take care and thank you again!

Comments are closed.